Lenlai Red lifts 1st Ccpur Women’s Football trophy

LAMKA: In celebration of the International Women’s Day, the much awaited final match of the “1st Churachandpur Women Football Tournament 2018” was kicked off in Lamka Football Ground amidst large crowd.

Lenlai Red FC and Tuaitengphai YAU fought fiercely and skillfully for goal soon after the start off. However the first-half ended in a goalless draw. Both players attempted their advances in the second-half, which also resulted in null.

Finally, the penalty shootout whistle blown! Fans of the two finalist teams were in finger-crossed, there was a mixed of hope and despair visibly from the faces of the gathering crowd.

In the penalty shootout, the Lenlai Red FC came out in defeating the Tuaitengphai YAU FC by 5-3 goals.
Lenlai Red took home the champion’s trophy along with cash prize Rs 10,000 and certificates while the runners-up Tuaitengphai YAU received Rs 5,000 and certificates. 

Kimkim of Tuaitengphai YAU bagged the Best Player award; with 8 goals in her feet, Nengthennei of Lenlai Red, received the Top Scorer award; Niengthienkim of FC Zomi Colony was adjudged as the Most Promising Player; Lenlai Red goalie Tinneithem received the Best Goalkeeper award; and Nurses FC bagged the Best Discipline Team award. All the participant teams were also presented one football and certificate each as consolation prize. From its beginning, the CCpur Women's Day Football Championship Trophy will be a Rolling Trophy now.

16 teams competed for the trophy. They are Rayburn High FC, Tuaitengphai YAU, Ganggam SC, Lenlai Blue, Chelsea Fans Club, Venus, Nurses FC, Symropia FC, United Chin FC, Pallai Women FC, Cool Young Girls, Lenlai Red, Women Police, FC Zomi Colony, Angel Places Rubies, WOC United FC.

Under the theme “Dare to Shine”, the 1st Churachandpur Women’s Football Tournament 2018 was held in Lamka from 2-8 March 2018.

The tournament was organised by the Action for Women and Child Advancement (AWCA) and supported by the Churachandpur District Sports Association (CDSA).

Shri Khaipao Haokip, Chairman ADCC and Shri Langkhanpau Guite, Ex-Chairman ADCC graced the semif inal match as the Chief Guest and Functional President respectively, and other ADCC members also graced as the Guests of Honours.

The Chief Guest donated Rs 15000 and Functional President donated Rs 5000 for the upliftment of women’s football in the district.

The International Women’s Day celebration was carried out under the aegis of AWCA just before the Final Match began, which was humbly graced by wives of the district’s minister and MLAs as the Chief Guest and Guests of Honour.

Ms (Dr) Kimboi w/o V Hangkhanlian, Minister of Vety. Animal Husbandry and Agricultural, as the Chief Guest, who had given an inspiring speech on the event and donated Rs 30,000. The Guest of honour, Ms Thianching w/o Ginsuanhau Zou, MLA & Chairman MANEREDA too made a heart-touching speech and also donated Rs 10000. Ms Mary Tombing represented in lieu of Ms Lalneimoi w/o Vungzagin, Chairman MTDC gave an encouraging speech and donated Rs 5000.

Ms Phalhoikim w/o TN Haokip, MLA and President MPCC, who could not physically appeared on the day, but graciously donated a sum of Rs 10,000.

“These respected women were invited as guests on the event to show honour for the sacrifices they have made towards the achievements of their husbands in the electoral politics for CCpur District,” said Ms Grace Zamnu, MDC.

Grace Academy founder & headmistress Grace Niangnuam is
being honour by Ms Grace Zamnu, MDC & founder of AWCA.
According to the organiser, the year 2018 is declared as the “Year of Education for Women". Nine women, who has been instrumental in educational setups have been bestowed with “Women’s Day Achievers Award 2018”.

As a recognition and honour of their achievements in painstakingly setting up of educational institutions, this award has been given to them.

The awardees include Ms Hathoi Buansing, founder & principal of Bethany Christian College; Ms Mary Grace Niangnuam, founder & headmistress of Grace Academy; Ms Ruati and Ms Manzavung Thomte of The Dawn School; Ms Lalrinmawi of Happy Heart School; Ms R Tusing, Young Learners School; Ms Deborah Haokip of Legacy Faith (Donated Rs.5000), Ms Rita Vanlalchanhimi, Pathway; and Ms Laltluongmawi of Vision Academy.

Remarkably, an interim committee set up as 'Women Sports Association of Churachandpur (WoSAC)' on this auspicious day.

The Guests, Women Achievers, Organising Committee, the new WoSAC members and for the event, have been blessed with a dedicated prayer to Almighty God by a woman reverend Dr Nengpi Singson.

The organiser’s chairperson Ms Grace Zamnu and its secretary Ms Rose Ngaihte expressed their heartfelt gratitude to all the supporters and sponsors, without whom the event might not be in such a beautiful ending.

The big thanks goes to Shri Kammuanlal, MCS, CEO/ADCC (Rs 9500/Trophy & Rs 10000/Prize money), Shri S Dalthang, Social Worker of Zogam Road (Rs 7000, Trophy for Runners-up, 14 footballs & medals for consolation prize, and prize money of Rs 5000).

The supporting sponsors were Ms (Dr) Farla Steele-Treat, Arkansas, USA (100 USD/6000 INR); Shri PD Stephen Lulun, IDES, CEO/ Ahmedabad Cantonment Board (Rs 5000); Shri Rakesh Balwal, IPS, SP CCPur (Rs 5000 plus 20 chairs for the main day), Shri Shyam Lal Poonia, IAS, DC CCpur (Rs 5000 plus providing potable water at the ground), Shri Col Mithun R Shetty, CO 25th AR (Samiana, Cannards, Carpets, Medical Team, 70 Chairs, Sofa Seats, and Sound Systems for 7th and 8th),  and Shri Lokender Singh, CO 2AR, Khuga Battalion (Rs 5000 plus Tea & Snacks for Organisers)

Also special thanks to the iconic singers who mesmerized the crowd with their beautiful songs – Ms Mami Sinate, Mr Boigin Singson, Mr S Jems Arjun, Mr Dan Axl K Gangte, and Mr Minlun Phaipi. And there were many more to whom we owed many thanks. This is what the organisers expressed happily.

In sideline of International Women’s Day, six women has been awarded Achievers Award on this auspicious day by the Churachandpur Women Initiative, CCpur; and District Administration, Churachandpur in Lamka.

The awardees include Rev Dr Niangpi Singson; Chiinneihlam Gangte, Sub Inspector; Niangngaihnem, TMI; Dr Chingnunsiam, District Nodal Officer; S Lalsangzuali, Headmistress, Ccpur Govt High School and Ningngaihkim, Amazing Grace Home, Bungmual.

The top 15 women Marchathon runners has been honoured with certificates, namely, Lalita Prajapat, Purnima Thakur, Lilamanti Baghele, Ghule Shakunta Ramdas, Manju Rautela, Sujata Sandhukhan, Chanchala Kumarcha, Harpreet Kaur, Florence Vahboihthem, Vungthanching, S Chingngaihlun, Rebecca Haokip, Taichin Gangte, K Jenny Gangte and Felly Gangte.

1 comment:

  1. its not Lenlai Red FC, it should be Lenlai Club(Red).


Comments not related to the topic will be removed immediately.

Recent Posts

Popular Posts



Thangkhal Bible in Mobile

Mobile phone a Thangkhal NT Bible koih ding dan

Read Thangkhal NT Bible




TBCWD TOUR 24-Sept-2022
Kulhvum Prayer

Blog Archive