- Dr. TS Haokip, 
           President, WKZIC-GHQ, 
           June 24, 2024

No.127/04//WKZIC/(PR)/23-24: This supplementation clarification statement is made in response to the 'THE INDIAN EXPRESS' issue of 16 May 2023, and updated on 27 August 2023, under the caption "demand for a Kuki homeland, it's history and rationale" by esteemed writer, Esha Roy, stating as Kuki Homeland movement starting in 1980s, and some others in Social Media as 1960s is clarified and rectified as below:

The chronology and stages of 77 long years struggle for Kukiland State under Article 3 of the Indian constitution for Kuki-Zo people is briefly chronolised as under:

- Stage -1: 1947 to 1987: Our Legitimate Constitutional demand for Kukiland State  under Article 3 of the Indian Constitution began from 1946-47 by the Kuki National Assembly (KNA) founded on 26 October 1946, based on Kuki Hills (1852- 1949) by S.M Javum, President KNA and team to PM Pandit Jawarlal Nehru in 1947. Subsequently, by P.C Misao (1951-56), S.L Lunneh (1956-61), Paokhokam Kipgen (1961-64), and Thangkhopao Singsit (1964-67) submitted various Memoranda to succeeding Prime Ministers of Govt. of India such as PM Lal Bahadur Sastri, PM Indira Gandhi, Charan Singh, PM Rajiv Gandhi, and PM Chandra Sekhar (1990-91) to PM Manmohan Singh (2004-2014) by Kuki Inpi Manipur (KIM) and Kuki State Demand Committee (KSDC) for granting Kukiland state under Article 3 of the Indian Constitution.

- Stage-2: Kuki-Mizo State @ MNF Mizoram Movement-1960s: On the 15-18 January, 1965, at Kawnpui, Songpi-Lamka, all together 13 Kuki-Zo Oranisations signed an Agreement to fight for Mizoram State comprising of Lushai Hills Union Territory (UT) and all Kuki areas of outer Manipur Kuki Hills. After strenuous struggle for consecutive 22 years, Lushai Hills UT was granted MIZORAM Statehood on the 20 February 1987, leaving behind all Kuki areas of outer Manipur.

- Stage- 3: 1988- 2008: Kukiland State demand  under Article 3 of the Indian Constitution pioneered by Kuki National Assembly (KNA) based on Kuki Hills (1852-1949) from 1946-47 was resurgent by Kuki National Front (KNF) and Kuki National Army (KNA) in 1987 and various Kuki-Zo militlant groups under the Umbrella of Kuki National Organisation (KNO) and United People's Front (UPF). KNO-UPF signed a 'Suspension of Operation' (SoO) with the Indian Army in 2005, and then with Govt.of India (GoI) in 2008. 

-  Stage-4: 2010- 2024: Kuki State Demand Committee (KSDC) & National Federation of New States (NFNS): The Kuki State Demand Committee (KSDC) was formed on the 2nd November 2010 with Shri. Lalthalien Hmar as the founding Chairman of KSDC to articulate and champion the will of the Kuki people for a separate Kukiland State within the constitution of India under Article 3. Lalthalien Hmar was succeeded by Shri. Hejang Haokip and Shri. Khaikhohauh Gangte as the Chairman and Secretary of KSDC for consecutive two terms till date. KSDC is one of the 8th constituent members of National Federation of New States (NFNS) formed on the 15th September 2015 under the initiation of: 1). Shri. P.A Sangma MP, 2). Prof. M. Kodondaram, Chairman, Telengana Joint Action Committee (TJAC), 3). Smt. Maitreyi Pushpa, Eminent Hindi Writer, Bundelkhand,  with Shri. Raja Bundela as the President of NFNS for the creation of :  1). Kukiland, 2). Vidarbha, 3). Gorkhaland, 4). Bundelkhand, 5). Bodoland, 6). Dimaragi, 7). Karbi State, 8). Twipraland respectively.

- Stage-5: 2008- 2023: Kuki militant SoO groups and GoI Continue Talks for consecutive 15 years since 2008. Finally on 31 August - 2 September 2023, an Union Territory (UT) with Legislature on Puducherry Pattern was agreed by both parties, stated reliable source.

- Stage-6: 2023 - 2024: Kuki-Meite Conflict: When an ethnic cleansing Genocide was suddenly launched by Manipur State sponsored radical ARAMBAI TENGOL and MEITEI LEEPUN on the 3rd May 2023. Public Rally and Sit-in-Protest began to take roots and various Kuki-Zo CSOs, Philanthropic Orgns, NGOs, Village Volunteers, Kuki Inpi, Zomi Council, Hmar Inpui, ITLF, WKZIC, COTU, ITAC, ZU etc etc took strenuous efforts for the realisation of Separate Administration (SA) in the form of UT under Article 394A of the Indian constitution.

- Stage-7: 2024- Mass Movement: Public Mass Movement Rally held on the 24th June 2024 in all Kuki-Zo districts of Songpi-Lamka (Ccpur), Kanggui (Kangpokpi), Pherzawl, Chandel and Tengnoupal under the joint initiation of ITLF, COTU, ITAC and Kuki Inpi respectively. Continuous Mass Rally and Public  Movement to continue for State or UT with Legislature under Article 3 or 295A of the Indian Constitution.

- The writer is a Researcher and Author of the Book, "Ethnicity and Insurgency in Myanmar/Burma: A Comparative Study of the Kuki-Chin and Karen Insurgencies", ISBN: 978-1-5457-2271-8.

~ World Kuki-Zo Intellectual Council (WKZIC)-GHQ: Songpi-Lamka, Kuki Hills, India ~


No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments not related to the topic will be removed immediately.

Recent Posts

Popular Posts



Thangkhal Bible in Mobile

Mobile phone a Thangkhal NT Bible koih ding dan

Read Thangkhal NT Bible




TBCWD TOUR 24-Sept-2022
Kulhvum Prayer

Blog Archive